ADVERTISEMENT

OT: Went to the Chihuahua's Play-Off Game last night.

UTEPDefense

MI Hall of Famer
Oct 8, 2002
I went to the Chihuahua's Play-Off Game last night, it was only the 2nd Chihuahua's game that I have ever been to. I am not an expert at Minor League Baseball, but what I know(and what remember from the Diablos) is that Minor League Baseball is more about give-aways, goofy promotions, and having fun. You are not necessarily there to see who wins, compared to if you were at a College Football or Basketball Game. That being said, the El Paso crowd last night had more passion about winning that Minor League Game, than possibly any Minor League Game in history. It amazes me how 90%+ of the fans were wearing Chihuahua's clothes and a large percentage were wearing multiple clothes(both Shirts and Caps), even the large amount of people wearing personalized jerseys was impressive to me.

In a tribute to Strelzin and how he trained the El Paso fans, it also impressed me(and gave me flashbacks to my childhood) when the El Paso fans on our own(with no help or direction from the PA Announcer) would start chanting "We Want a Hit" and soon 75% of the stadium was chanting this(again, the fans were doing this on our own with no Cheerleaders, PA Announcer, etc. instructing us to do it).

I was impressed that El Paso sold-out a Play-Off Game(including packing the grass area behind Center Field) with less than one week's notice to buy tickets and competing against 12 or so High School Football Games which were also taking place at the same time all across the city. I was also impressed with how we arrived 20 minutes late to a sold-out game, but still found a parking meter on Stanton Street, less than a 7 minute walk from the Stadium. Even just walking around Downtown El Paso after the game is starting to turn into a nice little walk with so many new businesses and things to look at.