ADVERTISEMENT

On to the CBI?

nattybry

MI Miner Maniac
Jul 7, 2003
Still not happy that the tables were turned on us last night. W. Kentucky and the Refs unfortunately knocked us out from a chance at hearing our names called on Sunday... Kinda. The CBI I believe is a $27,500 buy in + invitation. Do most of you think we should play in this if invited. I'm on the fence honestly. I'd say I'd only want us to participate if the team plans to stay together for next year and if they commit to really trying to win it.

Any time you can play in a post season tournament and pad your resume I think you take it. Golding and UTEP can then say they’re on the right track in terms of building this program. Personally, I get the CBI isn’t what we wanted but I bet fans would turn up especially after the run they had in the conference tournament.

Last edited:
Team/business decision. I say run your numbers. If I was a La Tech or MAAC team who had a strong season but snubbed, I say yes.

I like Golding but totally disagree with him, the fans are splintered so they may not show? You need to sell butts in seats and sell at the concession stand. With the portal the “building for next year” is kind of moot.

Reactions: bamfor
I have not really looked into been super busy but what do we have coming in recruit wise any hope?

I say no. I don’t think we could sell enough seats to recoup the money. (And I don’t believe we are in a position to force home games).
IF !!!!!! This group stays together I don’t think they would benefit from the experience.
I think Golding needs to find a recruiter, a coach who understands offense, and take an internal look at his game coaching? A one and gone in a sub par tournament is not going to help, and who here really believes that Golding can coach beyond that game?
All that said, if invited and the players ( not the coaches) want to put in the work to win it - go ahead. But they must be all in. I don’t see it with this group.