ADVERTISEMENT

Let's show them some love!

Adams was a good coach, but Baker is actually an upgrade.

So the new coach has only coached 9 games and he's an "upgrade" over a coach who made 2 NCAA Tournaments and won 3 CUSA championships? One of the dumbest things I have ever read on this board and that's saying a lot.

Reactions: El Paso 777
So the new coach has only coached 9 games and he's an "upgrade" over a coach who made 2 NCAA Tournaments and won 3 CUSA championships? One of the dumbest things I have ever read on this board and that's saying a lot.

A coach who made 2 tourneys in 16 years isn't exactly coach k. I was a big fan of coach Adams I loved her enthusiasm for the university. However, she could'nt build a consistent winner. Baker has won big in every season at d3 and d2. I honestly didn't think he could win more than 10 games this year with the roster he inherited. The guy can flat out coach. He's a climber and he will get whatever job he wants in a few years.

I can see that, but he's coached 9 games so far. He hasn't accomplished anything yet. If he can accomplish those things faster, then totally agree, but let's be realistic here.

I can say I hope we get someone similar to Baker for the men. I like his style. He knows what he is doing.

Reactions: EPTUTEP
Hopefully because the market for Women's Basketball Coaches isn't as high it means we'll be able to keep Baker.

Adams was a good coach, but Baker is actually an upgrade. He inherited a very subpar roster and he is getting everything out of them. I don't think he will be at UTEP very long but as long as hes here they will win.
I totally agree.

Go Miners!!

Exactly. A few people said Phil Johnson should be our permanent coach since he beat UNM and WSU.

Keitha Adams did a lot for UTEP. It will be a LONG time before you can say it will be an upgrade.

Reactions: ShovelMan66