ADVERTISEMENT

Remembering Jeep

Cube Jack

MI Hall of Famer
Mar 10, 2006
El Paso, TX
Are you old enough to remember Jeep Jackson? Did you ever see him play? I remember seeing him play when I was in 8th grade. Then as a high school freshman I remember a friend of mine always chanted "Jeep" when he'd take a shot at the basket. My sister knew him personally and I always heard about what a funny guy he was. Those mid-80s UTEP teams beat Pac 10 and Big East ranked teams.

Today Haskins is gone as well. Since then we've seen other players go too soon like Gym Bice, Roy "Chucky" Howard and Damion Goza... but none hit as hard as losing Jeep Jackson. If you've ever been in the lockerroom maybe you saw his locker still there. For 30 years no one else wore #22 though it was never retired. This year Coach Floyd had Paul Thomas wear it. I don't know if his number will ever hang with Richardson, Hill, Flournoy, Lattin, Barnes, Archibald and Hardaway but I don't think anyone who remembers him would complain.

Last edited:
I'm hosting a special Jeep Jackson Tribute Show tomorrow from 3p-6p at Spirit of 66, a brand new boutique sports bar located at 2712 N. Mesa across from the DHC. Soup Campbell, Fred Reynolds, and Paul Cunningham will be at Spirit of 66 and sharing their memories of Jeep on the show. If any of you, like Cube Jack have some Jeep stories, stop by tomorrow and I'll put you on Sportstalk. If not, please share them on this thread.

Kappy

I was on hand to see all of Jeep's home games for his entire UTEP career, and numerous other road games (@ NMSU, UNM, AFA, and CSU). The game I will remember most of his was the 1987 OT thriller against U of A in McKale. As a matter of fact, that's the greatest Miners win I've seen in person.